Seventy-five Foss Maritime vessels receive safety award

June 8, 2015

Achieving More Than 500 Combined Years of Safe Operations

Both hybrid tugs the Carolyn Foss and Campbell Foss achieved five or more years of safe operations.

Both hybrid tugs the Carolyn Foss and Campbell Foss achieved five or more years of safe operations.

SEATTLE- The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) has recognized 75 Foss Maritime vessels with the 2014 Jones F. Devlin award for outstanding safety records.

The award is given to self-propelled merchant vessels that have operated for two full years or more without a crewmember losing a full turn at watch because of an occupational injury. The Jones F. Devlin award publicly recognizes the skills and dedication of the hardworking men and women who are responsible for those safe vessel operations.

The 75 Foss vessels were recognized at the CSA Annual Safety Awards Luncheon held this year on May 28th in New Orleans.

Altogether, the Foss vessels achieved the equivalent of 529 years of incident-free operation. Sixty-three vessels had five or more years, and ten vessels boasted 10 to 21 years without a lost-time injury.

“Foss takes safety very seriously,” said Paul Stevens, Foss president and CEO. “The safety of our people and the environment are always our top concerns, and this is evident in all of our operations. We’re proud of our safety programs, intensive trainings, resources and operations. We believe that every person has the right to return home safely at night, and we do all that we can to make sure that happens.”

The Chamber of Shipping of America represents 31 U.S. based companies that own, operate or charter oceangoing tankers, container ships, dry bulk vessels engaged in both the domestic and international trades and companies that maintain a commercial interest in the operation of such oceangoing vessels. Current members include companies that own or operate U.S. flag or foreign-flag ships. A company owning or operating only foreign-flag tonnage must have an office in the United States to qualify for membership.

> Back to News
121 of 201 Next >