Foss Maritime Vessels Receive Safety Award 

June 19, 2017

Sixty-five Vessels Recognized for Years of Safe Operations

SEATTLE–  The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) has recognized 65 vessels of Foss Maritime and their subsidiary companies with the 2016 Jones F. Devlin award for outstanding safety records.

Susan Hayman from Foss accepts the award.

The Jones F. Devlin Award is one of two award programs CSA has sponsored since 1968.The award is given to self-propelled merchant vessels that have operated for two full years or more without a crewmember involved in a lost-time incident. It publicly recognizes the skill and dedication of the men and women who are responsible for safe vessel operations.

The 65 Foss vessels were recognized at the CSA Annual Safety Awards Luncheon held on June 7 in New Orleans. Altogether, the Foss and subsidiary company vessels achieved the equivalent of 549 years of incident-free operation. Fifty-three vessels had five or more years, and 20 vessels boasted 10 to 23 years without a lost-time injury.

“CSA’s members are committed to safe operations and CSA’s involvement in safety is longstanding with our ongoing commitment to represent the industry, domestically and internationally, on safety issues encompassing every facet of ship operations. It is only fitting that an industry so focused on safety, publicly recognizes the skills and dedication of the women and men who have enabled these many years of safe operations and who are responsible for actions in keeping with the highest traditions of the sea – aid to those in peril,” said Kathy Metcalf, CSA President.

“The number of years our vessels have received this award is a testament to how seriously we take safety at Foss,” said John Parrott, Foss president and CEO. “The safety of our people motivates us every day to enhance our programs, training, resources and operations. We’re proud to receive this award because it shows our commitment to safety compels all of us, in all aspects of our work, to do better.”

A list of the vessels receiving the award is posted on CSA’s Click on “Press Releases”.

The Chamber of Shipping of America represents 31 U.S. based companies that own, operate or charter oceangoing tankers, container ships, dry bulk vessels engaged in both the domestic and international trades and companies that maintain a commercial interest in the operation of such oceangoing vessels. Current members include companies that own or operate U.S. flag or foreign-flag ships. A company owning or operating only foreign-flag tonnage must have an office in the United States to qualify for membership.


> Back to News
74 of 200 Next >